Daybreakers: a new take on the vampire craze

January 10, 2010

I’m not normally the kind of person who goes out to see a scary movie because, well, they scare me and normally that’s unenjoyable. Something definitely drew me to this movie. Maybe it was because of it’s complete opposite take on the whole vampire craze that’s going on right now and I wanted to see how they approached it.

Honestly, I’m a bit surprised that it hasn’t been done before, and I thought that they did a fairly good job at portraying what life would be like if humans were on the run. So let me give you a brief summary. Instead of the typical story line we’ve been seeing lately where vampires are/have been in hiding, living in the dark in secret, vampires rule and are the majority of the populace here. Humans are on the run in fear of being caught and farmed for their blood. Though now, there is a severe blood shortage as humans are literally going extinct so the vampires are starving. Edward (played by Ethan Hawke, and of course his name has to be Edward…) is the lead Hematologist (or Blood Doctor) trying to find a blood substitute so the vampires can survive.

It might have seemed I’ve given a lot away here but honestly all this information comes out within about the first 10 minutes of the movie. You’d be able to fully grasp the concept of what’s going on and what the movie’s about within a surprisingly short period of time even if you had absolutely no clue what it was about and had never seen a trailer for it or heard anyone talk about it before, etc.

Half the people I went with didn’t like it and the other half did. So it’s fairly fifty-fifty. There are a couple parts where bats screech and jump at the screen which makes you a little fidgety in  your seat but if I could sit through it, most people could. Of course it isn’t the feel good movie of the year but it was a fairly entertaining watch. And for those who are sick of the Twilight frensy going on it’s a nice change of pace.

Of course it’s cinematic value wasn’t worth much, but the cgi wasn’t bad and I didn’t think the storyline was overplayed. Some didn’t like the ending but if you’ve seen it (or even if you haven’t seen it) I couldn’t think of any other way to end it without the movie going on for another couple of hours.

Of course I’m not super movie geek who reviews movie’s for a living but I just wanted to give my take on it and that I personally thought it was rather enjoyable. I do reccommend it but maybe wait for the dvd…

Leave a Reply

